top of page

KC Restaurant Week 2018


I wouldn't say I am a professional foodie, but I really freakin love food. You see I am the kind of girl that when I get a craving, I have to satisfy it otherwise this craving will haunt me for WEEKS! Like what kind of person is craving BBQ, sushi, and donuts all at the same time?

Needless to say, KC Restaurant Week is by far my favorite Kansas City holiday. With over 100 restaurants participating, it is a great opportunity to try places that are either a.) normally out of your price range or b.) some place you have always been curious about. They even have an app that allows you to look up the menu, make a reservation, and keep a running wishlist of all the places you want to visit! My personal list included Jax Oyster Bar and Fish House, Urban Table, Stock Hill, Lidia's, and JJ's (not including where I went for lunch. I told you guys, I take this week seriously!). So in honor of trying out sooo many restaurants in one week, I have my top three and what I loved so much about them!

 

Stock Hill

The Food: First off, I went to Stock Hill because I would not be able to go "just because" any other time of the year. But DAMN it was so totally worth it! Me and my boo-thang split the 14oz Wagyu KC Strip and it was just magical, y'all. Straight up one of the best steak I have had in KC and I have been to quite a few steak places. It had so much flavor and I just melted with every bite

On top of that, we had this delicious chocolate something which also had coco puffs! A nice throw-back touch in my opinion.

The Vibe: My favorite part of all was the aesthetic of the restaurant itself. It has a modern classy-yet-sassy twist to a place that can easily put you outside of your comfort zone. My favorite space was the lounge next to their bar with floor-to-ceiling windows and these fabulous green velvet couches. The large screen of Audrey Hepburn also was a glamorous touch.

Jax Oyster Bar

The Food: Jax is actually my favorite seafood restaurant and yet I usually always get the same pasta dish. So this time I went with one of their sampler plates instead to try a little of everything! We got "The Hook" which came with crab, 2 oysters, shrimp (some really, really good shrimp too), and then added a lobster tall. All of that only ended up being around $55. Since seafood is a pretty hands-on experience, it is a great dinning opportunity to share with a friend or significant other.

Fun Fact: And the best part? Jax has the little Girl Scout badge of sustainable seafood! This means that their relationship with a fishmonger is dependent on the fisherman's commitment to respecting and maintaining sustainable fisheries. So you can feel good about being a responsible seafood consumer!

Lidia's

You guys. I don't know how it took me a year and a half to discover Lidia's but it did and I was blown away!

The Food: OhMyGoSh YUM! First off it took me way to long to even choose from the menu because everything looked so good. I ended up getting their mussels and seafood plate (can you catch a theme here?) and it was the best plate of mussels I have had (with Pizzabella coming in second). My favorite part of Lidia's Restaurant Week Menu was their Half/Full Glass Wine Pairings. So not only did you get to try 3 different food you got to try 3 different wines as well!

The Vibe: Think of a warm modern chateau tucked away in the Italian countryside. The huge fire place creates a cozy atmosphere in the lounge. Not to mention the giant marble bar with a gorgeous blown glass chandeliers. Truly it is the perfect vibe for a romantic date, girls night, or any special occasion!

 

Moral of the Story

So while you may not be able to partake in #KCRW2018 this year, you CAN check out these restaurants since they are fully KCStyle.Queen approved. Did you go to KC Restaurant Week? Where did you go? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page